• Home
  • /
  • IELTS Exam Pattern

IELTS Exam Pattern

As discussed, IELTS test has four Modules- Listening, Reading, Writing and Speaking and it has two versions, Academic test and the general training test. IELTS test is conducted in two manners- paper based test and the computer delivered IELTS test, which is recently launched by IDP. Under the paper-based manner, test takers will take the listening, writing and reading modules in the day-1 and the speaking module will be conducted on a different day. The scenario will change in the case of CDT(computer based test), all the four modules will be conducted on the same day.

The duration for day-1 test (Listening, reading and writing) will be 2 hrs 40 min and the Speaking module takes 11 to 14 minutes. In order to finish prior formalities of the test, the applicant has report at the exam center at 11:30 am. The test will mostly start at 1:00 pm in all the test centers in India and ends by 4:00 pm. Candidate's performance in the test is evaluated on a scale of 1-9 band score and test taker should get the eligible band score set up by the university/immigration authority they have applied.

Listening 40 MIN (30 Min + 10 min grace)
Reading 60 MIN
Writing 60 MIN
Speaking 11-14 MIN